The Public Honors College

SMCM Newsroom

Winners of PRA Environmental Writing Contest Announced

April 12, 2011
Press Release #11-092


Winner of the 2010 Jansson Prize for Environmental Writing, sponsored by the Potomac River Association (PRA) and the Center for the Study of Democracy (CSD) at St. Mary’s College of Maryland, is Steve Carr, of Annapolis. Carr and second prize winner Robert Willie, of California, will be recognized at an awards ceremony during Earth Day celebrations in Leonardtown April 17.

 The full contents of the prize-winning essays appear on the Potomac River Association web site.

 This was the first year the PRA gave an essay award for environmental writing. The prize is named for Holger and Mary Jansson and their son, Eric, lifelong advocates of the environmental and cultural heritage of Southern Maryland. Next year’s contest has been expanded to include Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Prince George's and St. Mary's counties. Writers must compose an essay that outlines their strategy for restoring the health of the Chesapeake Bay. Details are on the PRA web site.

 The PRA is one of the oldest environmental organizations in the country; the college’s CSD explores issues associated with democracy and liberty.

  St. Mary's College of Maryland, designated the Maryland state honors college in 1992, is ranked one of the best public liberal arts schools in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. More than 2,000 students attend the college, nestled on the St. Mary's River in Southern Maryland.

Category: Other