St. Mary's College of Maryland, The Public Honors College
About St. Mary's

About St. Mary's: Administration

Division of Student Affairs


Campus Center 143
(240) 895-4208

Leonard Brown, Dean of Students
lebrown1@smcm.edu

Leonard Brown came to St. Mary’s College of Maryland in 2014. Prior to that, he served as dean of students and associate vice president for student development at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pa. At Dickinson, Brown oversaw and plays an integral role in areas of strategic planning and student retention. Prior to his work at Dickinson, Brown was associate dean of students at Loyola University in Baltimore, Md. He served in similar capacities at Frostburg State University and the University of Maryland Baltimore County. 

Brown has a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Dickinson. He holds two master’s degrees from Western Illinois University and the St. Mary’s Seminary and University Ecumenical Institute of Theology, respectively. Brown is currently working toward a doctorate in administration and leadership studies at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. 

Divisional Leadership Team

Lisa Youngborg, Administrative Assistant
layoungborg@smcm.edu

Kyle Bishop, Director of Counseling Services
kkbishop@smcm.edu

Joanne Goldwater, Associate Dean of Students and Director of Residence Life
jagoldwater@smcm.edu

Kelly Schroeder, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Student Activities
kjschroeder@smcm.edu

Kelly Smolinsky, Student Conduct Officer
kasmolinsky@smcm.edu

Sean Tallarico, Director of Public Safety
smtallarico@smcm.edu

Linda Wallace, Director of Health Services
llwallace@smcm.edu