Board of Trustees

Although St. Mary’s College of Maryland has always been a public institution, it occupies a unique position within the Maryland state college system. Unlike the other state colleges, St. Mary’s has an independent board of trustees. By virtue of their interest, experience, and ability, members of the board, who are appointed by the governor of Maryland for six-year terms, represent a source of unusual strength to the College.


James P. Muldoon, Chairman
Washington, D.C.
Chief Executive Officer, METCOR

Benjamin C. Bradlee, Vice Chairman
Washington, D.C.
Vice President at Large, The Washington Post

John C. Wobensmith ’93, Treasurer
New York, New York
Chief Financial Officer and Principal Accounting Officer, Genco Shipping and Trading

Molly Mahoney, Secretary
Bethesda, Maryland


Sherrie Robinson Bailey ’81
Randallstown, Maryland
Assistant Public Defender—District 8

Arthur Birney, Jr.
Annapolis, Maryland
Chief Executive Officer, The Brick Companies

Cindy Broyles ’79
Tall Timbers, Maryland
Vice President, Booz, Allen, Hamilton, Inc.

G. Thomas Daugherty ’65
Lexington Park, Maryland
President, Maryland Bank and Trust

Peg Duchesne ’77
Laurel, Maryland
Owner, Duchess Enterprise, LLC

Gail Harmon
Washington, D.C.
Partner, Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP

Steny H. Hoyer
Mechanicsville, Maryland
United States House of Representatives

Neil Irwin ’00
Washington, D.C.
Staff Writer, The Washington Post

Thomas Penfield Jackson
Compton, Maryland
Counsel, Jackson and Campbell

Gary Jobson
Annapolis, Maryland
President and Owner, Jobson Sailing

Larry Leak ’76
Clarksville, Maryland

John McAllister
Leonardtown, Maryland
Chief Executive Officer, Eagan McAllister Associates, Inc.

Michael P. O'Brien ’68
Solomons, Maryland
President and Owner, O'Brien Realty

Katharine Russell
Baltimore, Maryland
President, RWWR Associates

Paul Schultheis ’98
Windsor Mill, Maryland
President, St. Mary’s College of Maryland Alumni Association

Robert S. Waldschmitt
Solomons, Maryland
Partner, Wildewood Park Partnership

Daniel Ruthenberg-Marshall ’11
Potomac, Maryland
Student Trustee-in-Training

Deborah Travers ’10
Parkton, Maryland
Student Trustee 2009-2010