Faculty Spotlight

Dr. Leah R. Eller received a $170,000 grant from the National Science Foundation for her project “Collaborative Research: A Student-Centered Organic Laboratory Curriculum Featuring Microwave-Assisted Organic Synthesis (MAOS)”.  The funds will be used to support summer research students and to develop a new organic chemistry laboratory curriculum that uses microwave technology, emphasizes green chemistry, and fosters higher-order thinking skills.

+ MORE

Getting Hands-On Experience

     

St. Mary's chemistry and biochemistry majors were busy this summer participating in research and medical internships on campus and around the country.  Ashton Engdahl (above) spent her summer developing a green synthesis of functionalized pyrroles on campus with a paid research internship through our campus SMURF program.

Faculty and Staff


chemistry faculty
Photo of Dr. Paul P. Blanchette

Dr. Paul P. Blanchette
Associate Professor, Physical Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 210
Email: ppblanchette@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4356

Photo of Dr. Leah Eller

Dr. Leah Eller
Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 225
Email: lreller@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4352

Photo of Dr. Allan K. Hovland

Dr. Allan K. Hovland
Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 206
Email: akhovland@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4354

Photo of Dr. Andrew Koch

Dr. Andrew Koch
Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 227
Email: askoch@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4905

Photo of Dr. Randolph K. Larsen, III

Dr. Randolph K. Larsen, III
Department Chair, Associate Professor, Analytical Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 204
Email: rklarsen@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4597

Photo of Dr. Pam S. Mertz

Dr. Pam S. Mertz
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 208
Email: psmertz@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4495

Photo of Dr. Craig Streu

Dr. Craig Streu
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 229
Email: cnstreu@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-2179
Lectures on Liberty

Photo of Brad Newkirk

Brad Newkirk
Chemistry Lab Coordinator
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 202
Email: bdnewkirk@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4355

Photo of Dr. Robert H. Goldsmith

Dr. Robert H. Goldsmith
Professor Emeritus
Office: Schaefer Hall Room 237
Email: lrhgoldsmith@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4329