St. Mary's College of Maryland

Seminars & Events

On Thursday, January 24th, 4:15-5:15, Information Session for Study Tour to Peru! Kent Hall 213.

On Monday, February 18, 4:45 pm, Natasha Zaretsky, Ph.D. from Rutgers University, will speak on the "Legacies of Repression: Testimony, Citizenship, and Survival in Jewish Buenos Aires." Location TBA.

See the History Department Calendar for more information!

Program Highlight

Historic St. Mary's City

The Colonial History Concentration takes advantage of our special relationship with Historic St. Mary's City, the first capital of Maryland and a colonial archeological site, research facility, and museum.

+ MORE

SMP Spotlight

Megan Anderson, "That Which Remains: The Interplay of Memory and Fiction in Holocaust Remembrance," 2011.

"My St. Mary's Project was truly the culminating experience for my undergraduate years.  The process brought me full circle; I was able to take a piece of literature I had read in my very first semester and keep discussing and applying theory to it in my last.  My SMP proved to me that I could sustain great ideas and discipline myself, even when I was discouraged.  Working so closely with my SMP mentor, Christine Adams, was really valuable, offering a one-on-one environment that I had never had with my regular classes.  I came away from my project knowing more about my topic than I thought I ever would -- and I still love it!"

+ MORE

Faculty and Staff


Photo of Christine Adams

Christine Adams
Professor of History, Chair
Office: Kent Hall, Room 327
Email: cmadams@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4446
Office Hours: TR 10-11 and by appt.

Photo of Tom Barrett

Tom Barrett
Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 203
Email: tmbarrett@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4466
Office Hours: T-R 12-1:30; and by appt.

Photo of Adriana Brodsky

Adriana Brodsky
Associate Professor of History
Email: ambrodsky@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4108
Office Hours: T-R 12-1; and by appointment

Photo of Kenneth Cohen

Kenneth Cohen
Assistant Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 124
Email: kcohen@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-2220

Photo of Garrey Dennie

Garrey Dennie
Associate Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 302
Email: gmdennie@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4408
Office Hours: T-R: 9:00-10:00

Photo of Linda Hall

Linda Hall
Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 204
Email: ljhall@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4434

Photo of Charles Holden

Charles Holden
Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 325
Email: cjholden@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4393
Office Hours: Professor Holden is on sabbatical for the 2012-2013 academic year

Photo of Charles Musgrove

Charles Musgrove
Assistant Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 106
Email: cdmusgrove@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4394
Office Hours: MWF 12-1pm and by appt.

Photo of Gail Savage

Gail Savage
Professor of History
Office: Kent Hall, Room 326
Email: glsavage@smcm.edu
Phone Number: 240-895-4447
Office Hours: T-R 2:00-3:00 and by appt.

Aerial view of St. Mary's College of Maryland campus

St. Mary's College of Maryland
18952 E. Fisher Rd
St. Mary's City, MD 20686-3001
240-895-2000