Program Highlights

This year Dave Kung gave one of the MAA's Distinguished Lecture Series talks in DC! Watch the short version of the talk above, read more about it at the MAA website, or watch the entire talk

Student Spotlight

2012 SMCM Putnam Team

The 2012 Putnam Team - 

the 71th ranked team out of 578

college and universities

Sign up! for 2013

Faculty and Staff


2012 MathCS Faculty

Can you match the MathCS faculty with their SP Characters?

Photo of Dr. Casey Douglas

Dr. Casey Douglas
Assistant Professor of Mathematics (at SMCM since 2009)
Office: SH173
Email: cjdouglas@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4369 (240 895 4369)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Sandy Ganzell

Dr. Sandy Ganzell
Associate Professor of Mathematics (2005)
Office: SH172
Email: sganzell@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4371 (240 895 4371)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Susan Goldstine

Dr. Susan Goldstine
Department Chair & Associate Professor of Mathematics (2004)
Office: SH171
Email: sgoldstine@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4366 (240 895 4366)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Alan Jamieson

Dr. Alan Jamieson
Associate Professor of Computer Science (2007)
Office: On Leave 2014-2015 (SH154)
Email: acjamieson@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x2153 (240 895 2153)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Lindsay Jamieson

Dr. Lindsay Jamieson
Associate Professor of Computer Science (2007)
Office: On Leave 2014-2015 (SH154)
Email: lhjamieson@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x2153 (240 895 2153)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Emek Köse

Dr. Emek Köse
Assistant Professor of Mathematics (2011)
Office: SH174
Email: ekose@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4353 (240 895 4353)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. David Kung

Dr. David Kung
Professor of Mathematics (2000)
Office: SH175
Email: dtkung@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4433 (240 895 4433)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Ruby Kung

Dr. Ruby Kung
Professor of Cuteness (2004)
Office: courtyard
Email: ruby@smcm.edu
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Alex Meadows

Dr. Alex Meadows
Associate Professor of Mathematics (2005)
Office: SH170
Email: ammeadows@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4432 (240 895 4432)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Heather Moon

Dr. Heather Moon
Assistant Professor of Mathematics (2013)
Office: SH168
Email: hamoon@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x2197 (240 895 2197)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Simon Read

Dr. Simon Read
Computer Science Program Coordinator & Associate Professor of Computer Science (2002)
Office: SH150
Email: sread@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4442 (240 895 4442)
Personal Website

Dr. Abdel Salam Sayyad
Visiting Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: SH152
Email: asayyad@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4474 (240 895 4474)
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Ivan Sterling

Dr. Ivan Sterling
Professor of Mathematics (2000)
Office: SH177
Email: isterling@smcm.edu
Phone Number: x4370 (240 895 4370)
Personal Website

Bob Tracy
Adjunct Instructor of Computer Science
Office: SH256
Email: rttracy@smcm.edu