Seminars & Events

Thursday, September 11, 2014: Dr. Bevil Conway (Wellesley College) will speak on his research in visual neuroscience and color at 4:30 pm in Goodpaster Hall 195.

Monday, October 27, 2014: Dr. Todd Gould (University of Maryland Baltimore) will speak on "Genes to behaviors to treatments in bipolar disorder" at 4:45 pm in Goodpaster Hall 195

Friday, December 5, 2014:  Dr. Brian Mathur (University of Maryland Baltimore) will speak on "Braking bad: Aberrant inhibitory neurotransmission in addiction" at 3:00 pm in Goodpaster Hall 195.


Alumni Highlight

Check out Jordan Gaines Lewis '11's award-winning blog, Gaines on Brains.




SMP Spotlight

Katie Gluskin and Jeff Haus present their SMP
Katie Gluskin and Jeff Haus, "Entorhinal Cortex Lesions, Habituation, and Latent Inhibition," 2013. Gluskin and Haus, the 2013 co-winners of the Neuroscience Award, infused a neurotoxin into the entorhinal cortex of rats to induce a lesion, and measured the resulting habituation and latent inhibition behavior within a fear conditioning paradigm.


Honors & Awards

Annual Neuroscience Award:                        

Given to a graduating senior with a minor (or student-designed major) in the Neurosciences, who demonstrates superior depth of understanding, critical thinking, and research and communication skills in the field of neuroscience, and participation over and above what is expected in the SMCM Neurosciences program.

Utsav Gyawali

2014 Recipient - Utsav Gyawali (above)

Katie Gluskin and Jeff Haus

2013 Recipient - Katie Gluskin and Jeff Haus (above)

Jesse Burke

2012 Recipient - Jesse Burke (above)

Jordan Gaines

2011 Recipient - Jordan Gaines (above)

 Kimmie Konka

2010 Recipient - Kimmie Konka (above)


2009 Recipient - Josh Whitt (above)

Ron's SMP

2008 Recipient Ron Saul (above) 

Matthew K. Wiest

2007 Recipient – Matthew K. Wiest (above)


2006 Recipient - Meg MacFarland (above)