St. Mary's College of Maryland

Program  Information

Michael Taber, Chair
240 895 4900
mstaber@smcm.edu

Penny Shissler, Office Clerk
240 895 2159

Program Highlight

The department offers a major and minor in Philosophy and a major and minor in Religious Studies. As an active and energetic department, we are committed towards an intercultural, international and interdisciplinary understanding of the world. We teach across the traditional fields of philosophy and religious studies, and beyond the cultural divides of East and West. Departmental faculty likes to teach in a variety of venues (Nitze Program; Women, Gender and Sexuality; Environmental Studies; Asian Studies; African and African Diaspora Studies), to take students on study tours (Greece, Germany/Poland, India, Thailand, and, in the future, England and Israel), and to bring questions of global relevance to the campus communities through scheduling events with renowned speakers and activists.

Faculty & Staff

Faculty in the department hold Ph.D.s in Philosophy and in Religious Studies but are committed to reach beyond disciplinary boundaries towards a multi-cultural, interdisciplinary understanding of the world; we teach across the traditional fields of philosophy and religious studies, and beyond the cultural divides of East and West, like in Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Environmental Studies, Asian Studies, African and African Diaspora Studies, the DeSousa-Brent Scholars Program, and the Nitze Scholars Program), The faculty of the department also cross literal boundaries by taking students on study tours to places like Greece, India, Thailand. and Japan.  In addition to our regular disciplinary courses, these demonstrate our commitment to exploring new ways of showing students the worlds of philosophy and of religion.

Betul Basaran

Betül Başaran
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 201
Email: bbasaran@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-2026

Sybol Cook Anderson

Sybol Cook Anderson (on sabbatical leave 2012-13)
Office: Margaret Brent Hall
Email: scanderson@smcm.edu
Phone: Office clerk: 240-895-2159

BEmerick

Barrett Emerick
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 204
Email: bmemerick@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-2211

Eric Hall

Eric Hall
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 203
Email: eehall1@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4456 

Bjorn Krondorfer

Björn Krondorfer (on leave 2012-13)
Office: Margaret Brent Hall
Email: bhkrondorfer@smcm.edu
Phone: Office clerk: 240-895-2159

 Daniel Meckel

Daniel Meckel (on sabbatical leave 2012-13)
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 104
Email: djmeckel@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4464

Bradley Park

Bradley Park
Office: Marageret Brent Hall 206
Email: bdpark@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4276

Chad Pevateux

Chad Pevateaux
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 205
Email: cjpevateaux@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4278 

 

John Schroeder

John Schroeder (on leave 2012-14)
Office: Margaret Brent Hall
Email: jwschroeder@smcm.edu
Phone: Office clerk: 240-895-2159

Michael Slouber

Michael Slouber
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 207
Email: mjslouber@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4219 

CharlesStein

Charles Stein
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 103
Email: cwstein@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-2147

Michael Taber

Michael Taber (Department Chair)
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 102
Email: mstaber@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4900

Katharina Von Kellenbach

Katharina Von Kellenbach
Office: Margaret Brent Hall 202
Email: kvonkellenbach@smcm.edu
Phone: 240-895-4277

Aerial view of St. Mary's College of Maryland campus

St. Mary's College of Maryland
18952 E. Fisher Rd
St. Mary's City, MD 20686-3001
240-895-2000