River Concert Series Task Force

The president of St. Mary’s College of Maryland has commissioned the River Concert Series Task Force to develop recommendations to ensure the long-term sustainability of the college’s River Concert Series.  With planning for the summer 2012 season well underway, the task force will focus on summer 2013 and beyond. The River Concert Series Task Force, co-chaired by Trustee GlenIves and Associate Vice President of Planning and Facilities Chip Jackson, is scheduled to hold its first meeting early next week. The task force, similar to the committee formed to reinvigorate Governor’s Cup in 2011, includes college trustees, faculty and staff, St. Mary’s College of Maryland’s Arts Alliance members, and the local community.  A full list of the members can be found at

“The River Concert Series is integral to the rhythm of the Southern Maryland summer,” said St. Mary’s College President Joseph Urgo. “The college is proud to host this award-winning program and partner with local businesses, government, and organizations to enhance cultural experiences for area residents.  Now in its second decade, it is prudent that we evaluate its long-term financial plan and its model for continued success that is beneficial both to the local community and the college’s mission.” 

The River Concert Series Task Force will focus on the long-term viability of the series in addition to strengthening partnerships to continue its success. The task force will work through the summer and is expected to seek feedback from the larger community as it develops recommendations.  President Urgo said he expects a report from the River Concert Series Task Force by September 2012.

“I think it is notable and generous of Dr. Urgo to work on a model that ensures the future of the River Concert Series,” said Music Director Jeffrey Silberschlag. “Now that we have all experienced the dramatic effect of economic downturns on every aspect of our lives, I know the community will join me in appreciating his efforts on behalf of the River Concert Series.”

Task Force Members

  • Glen Ives, co-chair
  • Chip Jackson, co-chair
  • Cindy Broyles
  • Mike Colina
  • David Froom
  • Nancy Graf
  • Kathy Grimes
  • Wendy Heidrich
  • Bert Johnston
  • Mike O’Brien
  • Bob Paul
  • Keisha Reynolds
  • Jeff Silberschlag
  • Louise Snell
  • Alice Tetelman
  • Larry Vote
  • Kimberly Westcoat