Chesapeake Writers’ Conference 2013


Contact Us Facebook
Jerry Gabriel, Director
Chesapeake Writers’ Conference
Montgomery Hall
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
18952 E. Fisher Road
St. Mary's City, MD 20686

2014 Conference Faculty

Elizabeth Arnold


Elizabeth Arnold (poetry) 
Author of Effacement and winner of a Whiting Writer's award

Ana Maria Spagna

Ana Maria Spagna (creative nonfiction)  
Author of Test Ride on the Sunnyland Bus: A Daughter’s Civil Rights Journey, winner of the River Teeth Literary Nonfiction Prize

Matt Burgess

 Matt Burgess (fiction)
Author of Dogfight, A Love Story, a New York Times Editors' Pick and Barnes and Noble "Discover Great New Writers" selection 

Patricia Henley

Patricia Henley (fiction) 
Author of Hummingbird House, a National Book Award finalist 

Jerry Gabriel

Jerry Gabriel (conference director)
Author of Drowned Boy, winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction and a Barnes and Noble "Discover Great New Writers" selection

Mitchell Waters
Mitchell Waters represents a wide and diverse array of literary and commercial fiction and nonfiction, including mystery, history, biography, memoir, young adult, cookbooks, self-help and popular culture. Mitchell currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Association of Authors’ Representatives.
Mark Plaster
Mark Plaster MD is the founder and Executive Editor of Emergency Physicians Monthly, a professional magazine read by over 30,000 emergency physicians.  Dr. Plaster has been the author of the signature column Night Shift, for over 20 years.  During that time he chronicled the life of an ER doc working exclusively nights.  A sampling of these stories were recently published in the book “Night Shift: Stories from the life of an ER doc”.  
Jon Parrish Peede is the Publisher of the Virginia Quarterly Review at the University of Virginia. He was Counselor to NEA Chairman Dana Gioia and later Literature Director at the National Endowment for the Arts. He serves on the national council of the Margaret Walker Center Archive at Jackson State University and on the board of the SonEdna Foundation. He co-edited an essay collection on Flannery O’Connor.