St. Mary's College of Maryland

Faculty Highlight

Libby Nutt Williams

Dr. Libby Nutt Williams

Dr. Libby Williams has been elected the 2013 Woman of the Year for the Section for the Advancement of Women (SAW) of the Society of Counseling Psychology at the American Psychological Association. Congratulations, Libby!

Annual Colloquium - 2012
Going Viral:  30 Years of Living With HIV/AIDS

2012 Colloquium

Thirteenth Annual Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Colloquium
March 19–23 2012

Film Screening: The Other City
Monday, March 19
8:00 pm, Cole Cinema

The AIDS Memorial Quilt Exhibition
Opening Ceremony, Tuesday, March 20, 4:15 pm
Michael P. O'Brien Athletics and Recreation Center 
The Names Project 

Biology 101:  HIV/AIDS
Tuesday, March 20
8:15 pm, Cole Cinema
SMCM Biology Professors Samantha Elliott and Jeff Byrd

Development of a Vaccine for HIV/AIDS: Challenges and Prospects
Wednesday, March 21
4:45 pm, Cole Cinema
Dr. Marjorie Guroff, National Institutes of Health

Regulating Romance: Youth Sexual Culture, Moral Anxiety, and Love Letters in Uganda’s Time of AIDS  
Wednesday, March 21
8:15 pm, Cole Cinema
Dr. Shanti Parikh, Associate Professor of Sociocultural Anthropology and African and African American Studies

Images of Intervention: AIDS Activism in the US in the Early 1980s
Thursday, March 22
4:15 pm, Cole Cinema
Dr. David Román, Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity, University of Southern California

Colloquium Roundtable
Thursday, March 22
8:15 pm, Cole Cinema
Colloquium speakers

Activism Workshop
Friday, March 23 
3:00 pm, Cole Cinema
Helping Independent Prostitutes Survive (HIPS) 

Free HIV testing for the SMCM community
Tuesday, March 20 – Thursday, March 22
SMCM Library, 2nd floor
Schedule appointments at the SMCM Health Center


2012 Committee Members:

  • Gail Savage (co-chair, Department of History)
  • Leon Wiebers (co-chair, Theater, Film, and Media Studies)
  • Samantha Elliott (Biology)
  • Brandi Stanton (Core Curriculum)
  • Sahar Shafqat (Political Science) 
  • Jennifer Tickle, ex officio (Psychology, WGSX Coordinator)
  • Madeline Montgomery (student member
  • Jess O’Rear (student member)

This year's Colloquium is also made possible by the generosity of the Alice McLellan Birney Women Studies Fund, The Arts Alliance, the Lecture and Fine Arts Committee, the Nitze Scholars Program, the Natural Science and Mathematics Colloquium Committee, John Bell '95 & Jason Spicer, and by the following academic programs at St. Mary’s College of Maryland:  Art and Art History; Biology; Democracy Studies; Economics; Educational Studies; English; History; International Languages and Cultures; Math and Computer Science; Museum Studies; Philosophy and Religious Studies; Political Science; Psychology; Public Policy.