

BOARD OF TRUSTEES GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OPEN SESSION REPORT SUMMARY

Date of Meeting: May 7, 2021

Date of Next Meeting: October 16, 2020

Committee Chair: Susan Dyer Committee Members: Board Chair Lex Birney, Donny Bryan '73, Paula Collins, Glen Ives, President Tuajuanda Jordan, Larry Leak '76, John Wobensmith '93 Staff Member: Jennifer Sivak

Dashboard Metrics

None

Executive Summary

Discussion Items

Discussion on proposed Board retreat dates for 2022.

Action Item(s) related to specific strategic plan goals as appropriate:

III.A. Approval of Board of Meeting Schedule for 2021-2024



GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING OF MAY 7, 2021

OPEN SESSION AGENDA

- I. CALL TO ORDER
- II. DISCUSSION ITEMS A. Proposed retreat dates for 2022

III. ACTION ITEMS A. Approval of the Proposed 2021-2024 Meeting Schedule

IV. INFORMATION ITEMS A. Minutes (Meeting of February 6, 2021)

The committee expects to close a portion of this meeting.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES ST. MARY'S COLLEGE OF MARYLAND TRUSTEE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING OF MAY 7, 2021 ACTION ITEM III.A. APPROVAL OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING SCHEDULE FOR 2021-2024

RECOMMENDED ACTION

The Trustee Governance Committee recommends approval of the following dates for the 2021-2024 meeting schedule:

		2021 - 22	2022 - 23	2023 - 24
Retreat				
		10/14/21		
October mtg.	Committees	10/15/21	10/14/22	10/13/23
	Board	10/16/21	10/15/22	10/14/23
January/February	Committees	02/04/22	02/03/23	02/02/24
mtg.	Board	02/05/22	02/04/23	02/03/24
May mtg.	Committees	05/12/22	05/11/23	05/9/24
	Committees +	05/13/22	05/12/23	05/10/24
	Board			
	Commencement	05/14/22	05/13/23	05/11/24



BOARD OF TRUSTEES

TRUSTEE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OPEN SESSION

MINUTES

Date of Meeting: February 5, 2021

Status of Minutes: Approved

Committee Members Present: Committee Chair Susan Dyer, Board Chair Lex Birney, Paula Collins, President Tuajuanda Jordan, Donny Bryan '73, John Wobensmith '93, Gail Harmon, Larry Leak '76

Committee Members Absent: Glen Ives

Staff Member: Jennifer Sivak

Others Present: Nicolas Abrams '99, John Bell '95, Alice Bonner '03, Peter Bruns, Peg Duchesne '77, Judy Fillius '79, Elizabeth Graves '95, Sven Holmes, Doug Mayer '04, Danielle Troyan '92, Ray Wernecke, Betsy Barreto, Kelsey Bush '94, Anna Yates, Donny Bryan '73

Executive Summary

Committee Chair Susan Dyer called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Today's meeting is an update on the general tasks of the Governance committee. This year there will be no Honorary Degrees awarded. We will look for another time to celebrate Brandon Scott and Mervin Savoy, who were to be awarded honorary degrees at last year's commencement. Chair Birney is working on the new slate of officers that will be voted on at the May meeting. There have been a few nominees sent forward to Trustee Bryan for the Arc and Dove Award. Information on the nominees will be shared with the Board prior to the May meeting where a recipient will be voted on. The recipient will receive the award at the October meeting. With two of our board members stepping down at the end of June we will be welcoming Melanie Hilley '92 and Jesse Price '92 to the board. Trustee Dyer noted that we are always looking for prospects for the board and there is never a wrong time to send forward candidate information. The next time there will be seats empty on the board will be in 2023.

Trustee Dyer asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the October 16th meeting. Motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.