Seminars & Events

Phi Alpha Theta Regional Conference

On March 29 at George Washington University, four Saint Mary's students will present their research at the Phi Alpha Theta Mid-Atlantic Regional Conference. The history department wishes them the best of luck.

How to Join

The requirements for applying Phi Alpha Theta are:

  1. A minimum of 16 semester hours in history at SMCM or SMCM Signature Program (4 courses)
  2. 3.2 overall GPA
  3. 3.5 history GPA
  4. $40 one-time membership fee, which also includes four issues of The Historian

Invitations to apply and forms are usually sent twice a year to history majors and minors.  For more information, contact Dr. Adriana M. Brodsky at

Phi Alpha Theta: The History Honors Society

PAT Induction Cake

Phi Alpha Theta is a national honor society in History. It was organized at the University of Arkansas in 1921, and since then it has grown to more than 750 chapters. The membership of Phi Alpha Theta is composed of students and faculty who have been elected to membership on the basis of excellence in the study and writing of History.

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society that promotes the study of History through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning among historians in a variety of ways. It seeks to bring students and faculty together both intellectually and socially for mutual understanding and encouragement in their common interest in the study of History.  St. Mary's College of Maryland's chapter, Alpha-Iota-Kappa, funds a scholarship for a Gambian student studying in The Gambia.


Students Ben Israel ('14), Katie Boyle ('14), Jemile Safaraliyeva, and Matt Phillips ('14) will be presenting research papers at the 2014 Phi Alpha Theta regional conference on March 29. They will present on a borad variety of topics, including female gladiators, the German military in World War One, Soviet Cinema, and depictions of women in Homeric literature. The history department wishes our representatives the best of luck!

Students Sam Cameron ('14), Gabe Young ('13), Chelsea Bradcovitch ('13), and Megan O'Hern ('13) presented research papers at the March 2013 Phi Alpha Theta regional conference. Senior Megan O'Hern won first place for her paper presentation.

PAT 2013 PAT conference winner

Students Matt Anthony, Beth Bowers, Gabe Young and Mike Youngborg presented research papers at the March 2011 Phi Alpha Theta regional conference at Bowie State University.  Gabe Young and Marty McGowan also participated in a round table discussion of the book Blood on the Snow: The Carpathian Winter War of 1915 with author Graydon Tunstall.

Current Officers

President: Caroline Szendey
Vice-President: Sharon Miyagawa
Secretary: Whitney Nyman
Treasurer: William Sokolove
Historian: Katie Boyle

Spring 2014 Inductees

Samantha B. Cameron
Leigh W. Emig
Philipa E. Friedman
Sharon R. Miyagawa
Elizabeth  B.  Pinkus
William H. G. Sokolove
Caroline M. Szendey

Spring 2013 Inductees

Bryan Joseph Bigelow
Katherine B Boyle
Dylan Cahn
Steven Michael Gentry
Emily Camille Hiner
Benjamin Louis Israel
Elizabeth Noble Keesler
Carolyn Tyler La Rocco
Kathleen Mary Morrison
Benjamin Newman-Paul
Whitney Rose Nyman
Matthew David Phillips
Sarah Elizabeth Platt
Colleen Megan Walls
Jonathan C. Weber
Michael Pierre Wilburn
Gretchen Marie Winch

Spring 2012 Inductees

Matthew H. Anthony
Ashley M. Barreto
Chelsea M. Bradcovich
Korinne I. Buckwalter
Kenneth L.P. Doutt
Michael A. DuBey
Zachary A. Etsch
Holly E. Fabbri
Laura J. Hewins
Evan F. Kelley
Megan A. Kelley
Kylie R. Linthicum
Julia E. S. Malanka
Dominick S. Morris
Natalie L. Niell
Kimberly J. Novak
Joanna D. Purich
Ame Roberts
Kalyn L. Shields

+ previous inductees